Two disclosed Deerfield home sales range from $265,000 to $397,825
DEERFIELD -- Franklin County Registry of Deeds records show 13 property transfers in Deerfield between July 10 and Aug. 8, but sale prices were disclosed on just two of them, limiting what the public record shows about the strength of the local market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 13 sales during the period. Of those, only two listed a sale price, ranging from $265,000 to $397,825, with a median of $331,412 based on those two transactions. The remaining 11 deeds, roughly 85% of the period's activity, listed no consideration amount, which is common in deed data and does not by itself indicate anything about deal terms. Based on raw count alone, 13 recorded transfers is a meaningful volume of activity for the town, though the scarcity of disclosed pricing makes it difficult to characterize the overall market beyond the deeds themselves.
TOP SALES 138 N Main St. sold for $397,825 on July 14. Allison L. Howard was the seller and Allison E. Dunn the buyer. 94 North Main St. sold for $265,000 on July 10. Richard M. Gorey was the seller; Jonathan Charles Galenski and Justin Edward Galenski were the buyers. No other transactions in the period had a disclosed sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN North Main Street was the most active street in the period, with three recorded deeds: the $397,825 sale and a second same-day deed at 138 N Main St./138 North Main St., plus the $265,000 sale at 94 North Main St. All other addresses, including Conway Road, Greenfield Road, Jackson Road, Captain Lathrop Drive, Elm Street, Meadow Wood Drive, Graves Street, Pleasant Street and Plain Road, each had a single recorded transfer. By price tier, both disclosed sales fell under $500,000; no sale in the dataset had a disclosed price above that threshold.
MARKET NOTES Seven of the 13 sales, or slightly more than half, named a bank, mortgage servicer or federal housing entity as seller: Greenfield Savings Bank (two transactions, at 213 Greenfield Rd. and 16 Pleasant St.), Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. paired with Bank of America NA (10 Jackson Rd.), MERS paired with Peoples United Bank (28 Captain Lathrop Dr.), MERS paired with Leader Bank NA (21 Meadow Wood Dr.), Federal National Mortgage Association paired with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (64 Graves St.), and the Federal Housing Commissioner (101 Plain Rd.). One transfer involved a family trust: the Kathy Melnik Family Trust, with Stephen Melnik listed as trustee, as seller, with no buyer disclosed. One transfer involved a limited liability company as buyer: Hamshaw Deerfield LLC acquired 14 Elm St. from Elm St Registered Land and Filion Leasing Inc. At 138 N Main St., two deeds were recorded on the same day, July 14: the $397,825 sale from Howard to Dunn, followed by a second deed listing Dunn as seller with no buyer or price disclosed.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 10 | 94 North Main St | Gorey Richard M | Galenski Jonathan Charles; Galenski Justin Edward | $265,000 |
| Jul 10 | 101 Plain Rd | Federal Housing Commissioner By Atty; Link Corp Atty | Ruggles Michael | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 13 | 64 Graves St | Federal National Mortgage Assn By Atty; Usa Housing Urban Development | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 13 | 16 Pleasant St | Greenfield Savings Bank | Richardson Travis J; Bordeaux Sharon L | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | 138 N Main St | Howard Allison L | Dunn Allison E | $397,825 |
| Jul 14 | 28 Captain Lathrop Dr | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Peoples United Bank | Russo Matthew F; Russo Kimberly S | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | 14 Elm St | Elm St Registered Land; Filion Leasing Inc | Hamshaw Deerfield LLC | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | 138 North Main St | Dunn Allison E | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 14 | 21 Meadow Wood Dr | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Leader Bank Na | Burns Matthew B; Burns Carolyn J | Not disclosed |
| Jul 15 | 281 Conway Rd | Cooney Douglas C; Grzybowski Joan F | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 15 | 213 Greenfield Rd | Greenfield Savings Bank | Cowley Peter B; Cowley Gina | Not disclosed |
| Jul 15 | 10 Jackson Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Bank Of America Na | Hebert Jennifer M; Machowski Jennifer M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 16 | (no address) | Kathy Melnik Fam Trust; Melnik Stephen Tr. | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.